2012 Small Business Award Winners for SBA's Utah District

Release Date: 03/21/12                          Contact: Georgia Yoshida (801) 524-3217  

Release Number: 12-04                         Internet Address: www.sba.gov

— Winners to be recognized at an awards luncheon on Monday, May 14, 2012 —

Karen S. Woodbury, President of Woodbury Technologies has been selected as the 2012 Small Business Person of the Year for the Utah District of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). 

After over 20 years of technical and managerial experience working in the U.S. Air Force ICBM Program in Utah, Karen Woodbury felt the ‘entrepreneurial spirit’ which takes hold when people believe in themselves and their potential for success.

From humble beginnings in 2003 as a one-woman company, Woodbury Technologies has grown to include nearly 200 employees who support the Air Force, Army, and Defense Information Systems Agency in Information Technology, Training and Courseware, Medical Services, Communications, Aerospace Engineering and Program Management in 10 different states.

Sandra Lanier with Ephraim Co-op, Home-Based Business Champion and Rene Eddy Yurja, Minority Small Business Champion have also been selected as regional winners for SBA’s Region 8, which includes the states of Utah, Wyoming, Colorado, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Woodbury and Utah’s other award winners will be honored at the annual Utah Small Business Week luncheon on Monday, May 14, 2012, at the Joseph Smith Memorial Building.  “The Utah District is pleased to recognize these deserving individuals and organizations who represent the best of what small business in Utah is all about,” said Stan Nakano, District Director of SBA’s Utah District Office.

Small Business Week Award Winners:

Small Business Person of the Year

Karen S. Woodbury, President

Woodbury Technologies


Financial Services Champion of the Year

Thomas T. Christopulos, Deputy Director of Ogden City

Community & Economic Development,

ORC Development Officer


Women in Business Champion of the Year

Diana George, Vice President

Zions First National Bank


Home-Based Business Champion of the Year (and SBA Region 8 Winner)

Sandra Lanier, Chair of the board of directors and president

Ephraim Co-op


Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year

Steve Simpson, Barry Simpson and Craig Simpson

William W. Simpson Enterprises Inc., dba Twin Rocks Trading Post and Twin Rocks Café


Small Business Exporter of the Year

Christopher Newberry, CEO/Owner

Export Computer Exchange


Small Business Development Center Service Excellence and Innovation Center Award

Lennart T. Erickson, Director

St. George SBDC


Minority Small Business Champion of the Year (and SBA Region 8 Winner)

Mr. Rene Eddy Yurja

Independent Contractor



Minority Economic Development 8(a) Award Winner:


Minority Small Business Person of the Year

Stan Nakamura

Nex-One Inc.


SBA was created by Congress in 1953 to support and foster the creation and success of small businesses.  SBA offers a wide range of financial and business assistance and disaster relief services.  www.sba.gov 

# # #